SMF - Just Installed!

Interest only or Repayment Mortgage

Started by son, October 07, 2009, 10:36:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

son

Hello

I have recently let my house out and I was advised that my mortgage should be Interest only.  I am now thinking that for the small extra payment that I should change it to Repayment.  My mortgage is £415 Interest only or £498 Repayment.  Although this is a long term investment and I do not need it for any kind of monthly income I would ideally like to see it paid off, and us not still owing the full amount that we borrowed. The rent for our property is £495, and then £55 of that goes on Breakdown Cover, Annual Servicing and Certificates and Buildings Insurance, so we have £25 spare every month.  Can anyone advise me if they think I should pay the extra £60 out of my own pocket to get the mortgage paid off?  We have separate savings for any problems with the house or for when it is unoccupied.  I am new to this and haven't looked into the tax side of things yet,

Thanks

Sonya

propertyfag

Hey Sonya,

If you switch from Interest only to repayment, there will probably be an admin fee. Why don't you just stay on the interest only and make overpayments each month? It's a lot more flexible.

I have an interest only mortgage that is £500 per month, but I pay £700 per month (£200 overpayment), so i reduce debt. If times become hard, I can always reduce the overpayment amount to £100, and pay £600 per month.

If you change to repayment you won't have that flexibility!

son

Thanks,

That sounds like a good idea.  I can make overpayments on the mortgage but only yearly so I might try and save as much as possible and the pay off a load at the end of the year. 

Sonya

propertyfag

Hey Sonya,

Hmm...can you only make one over payment per year? Seems quite limited. Normally lenders put a limit on how much you can overpay by per year, and not the amount of times you can make overpayments!

Jen